Department Staff

These are the people who actually keep the Department of Chemistry running.

Office Staff

Laura Cervini
Business Manager

lcervini@sdsu.edu
GMCS 213A
619-594-4843

Laura is responsible for financial matters regarding the Department.

Jeanette Corona
Administrative Assistant

jcorona@sdsu.edu
GMCS 209
619-594-5595

Please see Jeanette for the following:

  • Graduate Admissions Assistant
  • Key issue
  • Distribution of special study add codes
  • Holiday Party/Summer BBQ
  • Fac/TA evaluations
  • Room reservations (for CSL 508 and GMCS 217)
  • Seminar Coordinator
  • Adjunct appointments
  • Distribution of parking permits

Reneé Stephen
Office Manager

rstephen@sdsu.edu
GMCS 209
619-594-4418

Reneé is responsible for overseeing office matters regarding the Department.

  • Refer an issue to the Chair
  • Student Grievance Procedures
  • Class scheduling
  • TA assignments
  • Lecturer and Student contracts
  • Faculty/Grant contracts
  • Academic Transaction Forms
  • RTP process
  • Faculty travel
  • Commencement Coordinator
  • Special Study Grades
  • Faculty/Staff Attendance
  • HR issues
  • Evening Exam/Review Session Reservations
  • Instructional Student Assistants (hiring process)
  • Faculty Searches
  • Chemistry Scholarships

Instructional and Technical Staff

Gregory Elliott
Mass Spec Facility Director

gelliott@sdsu.edu
CSL 229A
619-594-5264

Gregory manages our array of HPLC, LC-MS, GC-MS instruments, as well as supporting analytical equipment throughout the Department.

Mark Gelle
Organic Storeroom Supervisor

mgelle@sdsu.edu
CSL 505
619-594-6288

Mark shares responsibility for support of all the freshman-level laboratory courses, including Chem 100, 102, 200, 201, and 202. Mark also serves as the Department's Property Clerk.

David Onofrei
NMR Facility Director

donofrei2@sdsu.edu
CSL 225A
619-594-5989

David keeps all the Department's NMR spectrometers (600 MHz, 500 MHz, and 400 MHz) operating, and assists students and faculty with data acquisition and analysis.